Skip to main content


The 2015 Public Media Summit Presentations

The Association of Public Television Stations (APTS) held The 2015 Public Media Summit on February 22-24, 2015, at the Fairmont Washington, D.C., Georgetown, 24th and M Streets NW, in Washington, D.C.

Our Summit featured presentations and discussions on the most important issues facing public service media. The 2015 Summit explored the new political landscape, provided an extensive update on the forthcoming spectrum auction and repacking, and introduced the new champions of public broadcasting.

Click on the links below to watch the videos and view the presentations made during The Summit.


12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.
Welcome Lunch
Welcome to The 2015 Public Media Summit. Opening remarks were made by Eric Hyyppa, APTS and APTS Action, Inc. Board Chair-Elect.

Patrick Butler, APTS President & CEO, gave his Annual Address.

Governor Robert Bentley, Republican of Alabama, accepted the 2015 Champion of Public Broadcasting Award.

1:30 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
General Session
The theme of The 2015 Public Media Summit was “Greater Success Through Greater Service.” A panel discussion was held with station leaders talking about their pioneering work in education, public safety and civic leadership, and how that work has attracted impressive new public and private funding to public television. Speakers included Rick Johnson of WGCU in Fort Myers, FL; Becky Magura of WCTE in Cookeville, TN; and Jack Galmiche of Nine Network of Public Media in St. Louis, MO.

Remarks were made by Dr. Johan Uvin, Acting Assistant Secretary, Office of Career, Technical and Adult Education, U.S. Department of Education.

4:00 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Concurrent Session (Closed to Press)
General Managers Session – Future of Media
This session on the future of media which included two widely-recognized experts in the field: John Hane, Partner, Pillsbury’s Communications group, and Anne Schelle, Managing Director, Pearl TV. This discussion was led by Eric Hyyppa, Professional Vice Chair of APTS Board, and Director and General Manager of KUSM Television, MontanaPBS, and moderated by Lonna Thompson, Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer and General Counsel, APTS.

  • Please take a moment to view the PowerPoint presentation of the Future of Media.

4:00 p.m. – 5:15 p.m.
Concurrent Session (Closed to Press)
Lay Leader Session – Best Practices in Advocacy
This special briefing for lay leaders discussed the new political landscape and effective advocacy. Remarks were provided by Ed Driggs, APTS Board Lay Vice Chair, and Michael Harold, Legislative Director, Office of Congressman Earl Blumenauer (D-OR). This session was moderated by Cait Beroza, Advocacy & Social Media Manager, APTS.

6:30 p.m. – 9:00 p.m.

Award Presentations

The 2015 EDGE Award was presented to Alan Popkin of KLCS in Los Angeles.

The 2015 Public Service Award for Excellence in Education was presented to Gail Porter Long of Maryland Public Television.

The 2015 David J. Brugger Lay Leadership Award was presented to Hilma Prather of Kentucky Educational Television.

NHK Presentation

A presentation about NHK with an introduction by Jay Campbell.

Remarks were made by Mr. Shoichiro Beppu and Ms. Aki Shibuya, Co-Hosts, NHK WORLD'S NEWSROOM TOKYO.

NPR President and CEO Jarl Mohn

Remarks were made by Jarl Mohn, President & CEO, NPR.


8:00 a.m. – 9:15 a.m.
Breakfast Session
Craig Fugate, Administrator of the Federal Emergency Management Administration (FEMA), discussed the potential public safety partnership between FEMA and public television.

APTS/APTS Action, Inc. Membership Meetings
Remarks were made by John Harris, APTS & APTS Action Inc. Board Chair, and President & CEO, Prairie Public Broadcasting.

9:30 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
General Session  (Closed to Press)
Legislative Session – APTS Action, Inc. Consultants
The APTS Action, Inc. legislative consultants spoke about the current political environment in Washington and how it affects federal funding for public media. Moderated by Kate Riley, Vice President, Government and Public Affairs, APTS.

11:00 a.m. 12:30 p.m.
General Session  (Closed to Press)
The APTS legislative and communication staff provided a dynamic presentation of the public television issues that are front and center in Washington, D.C. – federal funding requests, and grassroots and grasstops advocacy. Speakers included Kate Riley, Vice President, Government and Public Affairs, APTS; Stacey Karp, Director, Communications, APTS; Cait Beroza, Advocacy & Social Media Manager, APTS and Will Glasscock, Legislative and Policy Consultant, APTS.

Remarks were made on Ready To Learn by Debra Sanchez, Senior Vice President for Education and Children’s Content Operations, CPB.

A presentation on the latest Ready To Learn research was made by Carlin Llorente, Senior Research Social Scientist, SRI International’s Center for Technology in Learning.

  • Please take a moment to watch the video and view the PowerPoint presentation of this legislative session.

1:00 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Lunch Session
Public Media Strengthens Our Civil Society
This special lunch sponsored by CPB included CEO and President Patricia de Stacy Harrison presentation of the 2015 CPB Thought Leader Award to former U.S. Senator Richard Lugar (R-IN), President of The Lugar Center. Remarks were provided by Ambassador Melanne Verveer, Executive Director of the Institute for Women, Peace and Security at Georgetown University, and Congressman G. K. Butterfield (D-NC), Chairman of the Congressional Black Caucus. St. Louis Public School District educator Charles Bean, who has been recognized as an American Graduate Champion for his efforts to help hundreds of at-risk youth stay in school, also spoke. Mr. Bean was joined by his graduate whom he mentored, Army Reservist Private Malik Avery.

All of these leaders spoke about public media’s important role in strengthening our civil society.

2:45 p.m. – 4:30 p.m.
General Session
A panel discussion on spectrum auction and repacking included remarks by Howard Symons, Vice Chair of the FCC Incentive Auction Task Force. This session will be moderated by Ellis Bromberg, General Manager, Milwaukee Public Television, and Board Member, APTS.

Summary remarks were made by Eric Hyyppa, Director and General Manager of KUSM Television, MontanaPBS, and Chair-Elect, APTS and APTS Action, Inc.

6:30 p.m. – 8:30 p.m.
Dinner Event
This special dinner event included remarks by Paula Kerger, President and CEO of PBS, Gwen Ifill and Judy Woodruff, Co-Anchors of the PBS NewsHour, and Sara Just, Executive Producer of the PBS NewsHour.

  • Please take a moment to watch the video of this dinner event.

8:00 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Breakfast Program
Remarks were given by Congressman Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), founder and co-chair of the Congressional Public Broadcasting Caucus.

The 2015 Champion of Public Broadcasting Award was presented to U.S. Senate Assistant Democratic Leader Richard J. Durbin (D-IL).

The 2015 National Advocacy Awards were presented to Rob Dunlop, President & CEO of KCTS 9, and
Ed Ulman, Executive Director and General Manager of KBTC.

The Public Media Summit

Webinars/Conference Calls

So Now You're the Grantwriter...
Join us on October 24, 2017 at 2:00 p.m. ET for advice and tips for new grantwriters.
September 2017 Business Opportunities Coalition Call
On Monday, September 18, 2017, Consulting Counsel, Bill Lake of Wiley Rein, LLP joined Pat Butler and Lonna Thompson of APTS, to give an update on the repacking and ATSC 3.0 and introduced some...